SPAR South Africa’s North Rand region celebrates Women in Sport

July 11, 2023 IN THE CATEGORY: Sport sponsorship

  • Winston Meyer (President Tshwane Sports Confederation), Caster Semenya (President’s Excellence Award Winner), Nonhlanhla Seeoe (Deputy Director Business Events City of Tshwane).

    Download image
  • Winston Meyer (President Tshwane Sports Confederation), Kelebogile Lefhiedi (Presedential Award for her lifetime contribution to soccer), Nonhlanhla Seeoe (Deputy Director Business Events City of Tshwane).

    Download image
  • Philasande Muvevi (Director Competitve Sports Gauteng Department of Sports Arts Culture and Recreation and Retha Ingenbleek (Sponsorship Controller, SPAR North Rand)

    Download image
  • MMC Peggy de Bruin (MMC Economic Social Development)

    Download image

SPAR South Africa's North Rand region proudly sponsors Tshwane Women in Sport Awards. This year, esteemed guests included renowned sportswomen Caster Semenya and Cllr. Peggy de Bruin, MMC of Recreation and Social Development. The 2023 ceremony celebrating the Tshwane Women In Sport Awards dedicated to honouring women in sport was held on the morning of 24 June in Tshwane.

Congratulations all nominees

Some of the biggest names in South African sport, including Olympic and Commonwealth medal winners, were among the honourees and nominees of this initiative.

Retha Ingenbleek, SPAR South Africa’s North Rand sponsorship controller, expressed her pride in supporting such an empowering event: “We are delighted to have sponsored the Tshwane Women In Sport Awards. SPAR is committed to promoting equality and providing opportunities for women in sports. Congratulations to all the winners who have showcased outstanding talent and dedication.”

The winners of the Tshwane Women In Sport Awards 2023 are as follows:

  • Sportswoman of the Year: Lara van Niekerk (Swimming) – Winner
  • Sportswoman of the Year with a Disability: Kgothatso Montajne (Tennis)
  • WinnerMost Promising Athlete of the Year: Wendy Shongwe (Soccer) – Winner
  • School Sports Athlete of the Year: Megan Maree (Athletics + Hockey) – Winner
  • Most Promising Team of the Year: Gauteng North Figure Skating – Winner
  • Coach of the Year Individual Sport: Moonyean Britz (Boxing) – Winner
  • Administrator of the Year: Riana Bezuidenhout (Netball) – Winner
  • Technical Official of the Year: Benita Kleynhans (Swimming) – Winner
  • Game Changer of the Year: Anne Waldek-Thill (Figure Skating) – Winner
  • Sports Programme of the Year: Shoshanguve FM – Winner
  • Community Media of the Year: Garankuwa FM
  • Sponsor of the Year: SPAR
  • Community-Based Sport and Rec Program of the Year: Altus Sport – Winner
  • Amateur Photographer of the Year: Trevor Mabona – Winner
  • Presidents Awards: Claudine Claassen (Netball), Lonwabo Nkohla (Media), Hayley Wallker (Figure Skating), Kelebogile Lefhiedi (Soccer), Lianza Gericke (Gymnastics)
  • President’s Excellence Award: Caster Semenya
  • MMC Peggy de Bruin Special Award: Tebogo Macheke (Cricket)

Retha Ingenbleek further commented, “We congratulate all the winners and commend their exceptional achievements in their respective sports. SPAR remains committed to supporting women in sport, and we look forward to continuing our partnership with the Tshwane Women In Sport Awards to inspire and empower more women in the future.”

Inclusive sporting opportunities

SPAR South Africa not only holds a series of races which supports women runners across the country but also sponsors the national women’s netball team. The company is committed to taking an active role in the future of sport in South Africa. Over the past 20 years, they have supported women’s sport in particular, recognising a real need to assist in an area traditionally overlooked by sponsors. Their sponsorship of both national teams and local events comes from an interest in creating inclusive sporting opportunities for all.


Read more about SPAR in South Africa.

About SPAR South Africa

SPAR South Africa was established in 1963. It operates four retail formats: SPAR neighbourhood, SPAR Express (operated in conjunction with Shell as a petrol forecourt store), KWIKSPAR (which focuses on convenience in city centres and high footfall locations), and SUPERSPAR Supermarkets (similar to EUROSPAR in offer).

 South Africa was the first country outside Europe to join the SPAR organisation. The SPAR Group Ltd South Africa grants sub-licences to independent retailers to operate stores under one of the four formats, with almost all the current store portfolio being independently owned.

Share article on LinkedIn