SPAR Australia announces 2022 Retail Excellence Award Winners

June 17, 2022 IN THE CATEGORY: Awards and prizes

SPAR Australia has announced the winners of its 2022 Retail Excellence Award Winners during the annual Gala Awards Dinner on 11 June. SPAR Australia retailers, suppliers and team members joined in celebrating the achievements of SPAR retailers over the last year. 

The evening commenced with the presentation of the inaugural “Little SPAR Award”, recognising true heroes of SPAR and the Independent Industry, SPAR retailers Bob and Judith Little. 

SPAR Australia Managing Director Lou Jardin stated, “this award is to recognise the contribution to SPAR and the independent industry by SPAR Independent Retailers. Bob and Judith are true role models and inspire us all.” 

At the presentation, Michael and Andrew Little (Bob and Judith’s sons) described what it was like growing up in the house above the store and witnessing daily what Bob and Judith did to serve the community of Maclean. SPAR Australia congratulates Bob and Judith for their years of service to SPAR Australia and wishes them all the best in their retirement. 

The nominees and winners were announced for the first time on the night.

The Store of the Year awards was presented by Lou Jardin and SPAR Guild Council Deputy Chair Dimitri Spyrakis. On a night designed to acknowledge the Retailers who partnered with SPAR Australia to drive growth for businesses, SPAR would like to congratulate the following Retailers on their success in their respective categories: 

  • SPAR Store of the Year 2022 – SPAR Chevron Island 
  • SPAR Express Store of the Year 2022 – SPAR Express Morpeth 

SPAR Australia’s Retail Awards Programme identifies and recognises Retailers excelling in their businesses. The past twelve months, again, have seen a record amount of stores re-investing in their businesses, mainly thanks to the funds they received through the SPAR Loyalty Bonus. 

Congratulations to the following Retailers for their success in the Department Awards: 

  • SPAR Grocery Award – SPAR Ballina 
  • SPAR Express Grocery Award – SPAR Express Lambton 
  • SPAR Dairy / Freezer Award – SPAR Jetty Village 
  • SPAR Express Dairy / Freezer Award – SPAR Express Morpeth 
  • SPAR Fresh Food Award – SPAR Babinda 
  • SPAR Express Fresh Food Award – SPAR Express Tallebudgera 
  • Food To Go Award – SPAR Express Oxenford 

This year will be the first time the Community/Partnership/Foundation (CPF) Award has been presented and awarded to a retailer from each of the five regions. CPF aims to improve the Retail Culture throughout the group and for the SPAR Brand to become the first choice for Independent Retailers. 

This award recognises the stores that have embraced the CPF concept and are examples for the rest of the network to follow. The five stores of the inaugural CPF awards are: 

  • SPAR Bourke 
  • SPAR Richmond 
  • SPAR Express Morpeth 
  • SPAR Southtown 
  • SPAR Blackbutt 

SPAR would like to congratulate all retailers who were nominated for the 2022 SPAR Retail Awards and made the judging process an extremely competitive one. 

Source: SPAR Australia

Read more about SPAR Australia

About SPAR Australia

SPAR began trading in Australia in 1994. The current company was formed in 2006. In late 2010, a new majority shareholder, Jardin Investments Pty Ltd, was confirmed. This development significantly accelerated the modernisation of the SPAR Brand in Australia.

SPAR Australia Limited is an unlisted public company with an elected Board of Directors. SPAR Australia licenses and supports independent retailers to develop the brand. In addition, it provides a range of services through its Distribution Centre and offices.

Share article on LinkedIn